What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

General Chit Chat
User avatar
eslapion
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by eslapion »

I bought an Ultimate-64 board late last year and already then I felt it was a genuine marvel.

This thing will faithfully replicate a C64 except for the few ultrafarfetched demo which uses undocumented features or bugs in the C64 original chips. I couldn't find a single popular 1980s game for the C64 which wouldn't run on the Ultimate-64.

This thing has an HDMI output for compatibility with modern TV sets and it can operate in PAL or NTSC mode. It integrates pretty much all the functions you can find the Ultimate 1541 II/II+.

Since firmware update 1.33, it can now run the CPU at up to 48 MHz !!

While some might be tempted to jump on the settings and just push it to the max, in reality, most games become completely unplayable at that speed. However, if you have a few old BASIC programs that perform a bunch of calculations or even a few spreadsheets you might still be using, they will benefit greatly from the higher speed.

On the side of games, a few of them will benefit from a higher CPU speed but then you have to be very conservative in order to keep it playable. A few people demonstrated Driller on You Tube. However, the game of choice that everyone knows is Elite which was mostly a slide show on the C64. I bought the original in 1986 and I just couldn't do anything with that game - I felt I wasted my money.

I became an addict of Elite when I stumbled upon the Amiga version. I only got my first Amiga in 1989 and by then, Elite was considered an old (that's obsolete) game. There was one major limitation, however, you couldn't install a military laser in the rear on the first version. By the time that was fixed, I had completely forgotten about the game.

Today, with the Ultimate-64, you can set the CPU speed to 2 or 3MHz and have something very decent. It is exactly what Elite should have been back in 1985. A bit too late for me, unfortunately as I discovered OOlite and became a bit of an addict of this considerably better re-implementation.


Wealth, like happiness, is never attained directly. It comes as a by-product of providing a useful service. -Harland D. Sanders
User avatar
eslapion
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by eslapion »

I also tried Stunt Car Racer at 3MHz and found on YouTube the address where the rendering distance is set: $173E which you can alter using the Super Snapshot ML monitor in freeze mode or the one built into the Retro Replay, both of which are included in the U-64. It really makes the game a lot more fun to play. Any setting above 4MHz will result in an unplayable game.

Note to Melon: this is getting on my nerves. If you take too much time to write your post, the server flushes it. If you come back more than once to add stuff, you're prevented from doing so...
Wealth, like happiness, is never attained directly. It comes as a by-product of providing a useful service. -Harland D. Sanders
User avatar
eslapion
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by eslapion »

I am stupefied here... a C64 running at 48 MHz isn't amazing enough ?

Come on people. Give me your feedback here !

Am I the only one who bought an Ultimate 64 ?
Wealth, like happiness, is never attained directly. It comes as a by-product of providing a useful service. -Harland D. Sanders
User avatar
Melon
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by Melon »

Packing, Crunching, Level Packing? :D
.oO( MELON64 - ONE SLiCE AiNT ENOUGH! )Oo.
rmzalbar
Member
Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 9:06 am
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by rmzalbar »

I was considering the Turbo Chameleon, which can also be used as a standalone C64 (or even ECS Amiga,) as well as provide ultimate-ii functions and acceleration to a real c64. The Ultimate-64 though is a cleaner option if you have a good case. I would like to have one of these two..

I put in a few days of time into C64 Elite when I was a teenager. It was okay, but several years later I got the extremely wonderful yet vicious Elite II Frontier for my Amiga. It was thankfully accelerated; probably my A500 with AdSpeed, or maybe I had a 1200 by then. I put in a lot of time on that. I didn't see the original Elite release on Amiga until later.
RobertB
Member
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by RobertB »

eslapion wrote: Sun Aug 30, 2020 5:49 pm A few people demonstrated Driller on You Tube.
I've been having fun running games for the C64 3D Construction Kit, namely the 3D Kit Game, Cyborg; and A Chance in Hell v1, v1.1, and v1.2. They run excellently (moving across the landscape very smoothly and quickly) at the U64's top speed of 48 MHz., especially ACIH v1.2 which has been bug-fixed/adjusted to take into account that speed.

Though the Giga-CAD loads into the U64 at 48 MHz, I don't know enough about it to get it to go through its various modes and thus render objects. I'll have to ask our club member, who is an expert in Giga-CAD, to try out the system and this program.

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group - http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network - http://www.portcommodore.com/sccan
RobertB
Member
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by RobertB »

I forgot to say that Super Mario Bros. 64 recognizes the U64's acceleration with the word, "Turbo", in its opening menu.

As the game does when used with a C128 in 64 mode,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group - http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network - http://www.portcommodore.com/sccan
User avatar
eslapion
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by eslapion »

RobertB wrote: Tue Sep 08, 2020 8:51 pm I've been having fun running games for the C64 3D Construction Kit, namely the 3D Kit Game, Cyborg; and A Chance in Hell v1, v1.1, and v1.2. They run excellently (moving across the landscape very smoothly and quickly) at the U64's top speed of 48 MHz., especially ACIH v1.2 which has been bug-fixed/adjusted to take into account that speed.

Though the Giga-CAD loads into the U64 at 48 MHz, I don't know enough about it to get it to go through its various modes and thus render objects. I'll have to ask our club member, who is an expert in Giga-CAD, to try out the system and this program.
These aren't things I am familiar with at all. Could you provide a few links ?
Wealth, like happiness, is never attained directly. It comes as a by-product of providing a useful service. -Harland D. Sanders
RobertB
Member
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by RobertB »

There are download links for A Chance in Hell at

https://www.gamesthatwerent.com/gtw64/a-chance-in-hell/

Author Steven Flanagan sent me v1.1 music and v1.2 directly, but I think both are included in the .zip available on the above page. However, I am now testing a newer version of v1.2 for him, and so, that one is not available yet.

He sent me the modified 3D Kit Game and the unmodded Cyborg 2900 directly, too, but I believe they are the same as the ones found at

http://supercpu.cbm8bit.com/games.php

For Giga-CAD Plus, you can download at

https://www.c64-wiki.de/wiki/3D-Konstru ... m_C64/C128

My club member who knows Giga-CAD has been using the original disks and not the .D64's found above. So, I cannot know if those .D64's are exactly the same.

Giga-CAD Plus, even with the SuperCPU patch, is still not fully-compatible at accelerated speeds (when tested with a SuperCPU), i.e., you have have switch back and forth between unaccelerated and accelerated to perform certain operations. For example, unaccelerated when laying down points and accessing the drop-down menus and accelerated when moving objects and rendering.

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group – http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network – http://www.portcommodore.com/sccan
RobertB
Member
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: What can you do with a 48MHz C64 ?

Post by RobertB »

I wrote: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:51 pmAuthor Steven Flanagan sent me v1.1 music and v1.2 directly, but I think both are included in the .zip available on the above page.
That zipped file might not have all the latest. Steven says that all the ACIH variants are at the following --


However, I am now testing a newer version of v1.2 for him, and so, that one is not available yet.
That is still true.
He sent me the modified 3D Kit Game and the unmodded Cyborg 2900 directly, too, but I believe they are the same as the ones found at...
Steven says that the modded 3D Kit Game is for sure at



Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group – http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network – http://www.portcommodore.com/sccan
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest