Minimig

Discussions for the Commodore Amiga
sm3
Member
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Minimig

Post by sm3 » Mon May 19, 2014 9:14 pm

Hi, I was wondering what others have to say about using a Minimig vs a Turbo Chameleon 64 with the minimig core port. I suppose the one big benefit I see is that I would not have to share my Chameleon 64. Currently, I use it in cartridge mode on the Commodore 64. If I wanted to use the minimig core, I'd have to disconnect it and place into it the docking station.

I guess I'm wondering if the minimig hardware does something you can't get on the TC 64 with minimig core port. It doesn't look like the TC 64 port has been updated in a while.

Thanks.



sm3
Member
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: Minimig

Post by sm3 » Sat May 24, 2014 9:51 pm

I suppose the point is moot, anyway. There doesn't appear to be any "Minimig" boards for sale at the usual places. Looks like if I want one, I'll have to either get the MIST or that FPGA Arcade when it becomes available. The MIST appears to be the cheaper of the two from what I've found so far.

dudz
Member
Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 5:40 am

Re: Minimig

Post by dudz » Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:10 am

If I wanted to use the minimig core, I'd have to disconnect it and place into it the docking station.
actually you can leave it connected - and even use joysticks connected to the c64 :)

sm3
Member
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: Minimig

Post by sm3 » Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:01 pm

dudz wrote:
If I wanted to use the minimig core, I'd have to disconnect it and place into it the docking station.
actually you can leave it connected - and even use joysticks connected to the c64 :)
So you are saying I can use my tc-minimig core while the Chameleon is still plugged into the 64? My amiga mouse connected to the 64 as well? Or no? I had no clue this was possible. I do like how you can plug a real Amiga keyboard into the dockingstation of the Turbo Chameleon as well.

Thanks.

dudz
Member
Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 5:40 am

Re: Minimig

Post by dudz » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:47 am

So you are saying I can use my tc-minimig core while the Chameleon is still plugged into the 64?

yes, generally all the cores work like that
My amiga mouse connected to the 64 as well? Or no?
unfortunately no, joysticks work however, and you can use the c64 keyboard to bring up the minimig OSD - so for playing games its quite ok that way.

sm3
Member
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 11:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: Minimig

Post by sm3 » Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:31 pm

Interesting, thanks, I never even thought to try it like this.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest