Null Modem Cable

Discussions for the Commodore Amiga
User avatar
iced_nine
Member
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: Central Florida USA

Null Modem Cable

Post by iced_nine » Wed May 28, 2014 6:25 pm

Has anyone had any luck using something like this? I could never get this to work or have the PC see the Amiga on the other end. Could I just be using a crap cable? Anyone sell a null modem cable designed to work with Amiga 500's for file transfer? Seems I keep buying generic ones that really aren't meant for this... :oops:


Commodore 64/Amiga 500 Enthusiast

User avatar
nonex
Member
Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:11 am
Location: PAL, USA

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by nonex » Wed May 28, 2014 8:16 pm

Rather than use a null modem cable, I use a small adapter that converts any straight-through serial cable into a null modem cable. They come in both 9-pin and 25-pin variants.

In my "tech bag" I have a collection of different adapters, male-male, female-female, 9-pin to 25-pin, etc. That way you can conjure up the exact cable you need, on the spot!

Radio Shack stocked these things in the past -- couldn't say if they do today. I'm sure they are around somewhere!

Syrax
Member
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Edmonton, AB

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by Syrax » Thu May 29, 2014 1:24 am

amigakit is currently out of stock: http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/cat ... cts_id=787

This guy seems to know what he is doing, I will follow his lead:
http://sandboard.50webs.com/tutorial/amiga_adf.html

User avatar
iced_nine
Member
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: Central Florida USA

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by iced_nine » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:48 pm

Thanks for the links... I will check them out and give them a go... :mrgreen:
Commodore 64/Amiga 500 Enthusiast

User avatar
iced_nine
Member
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: Central Florida USA

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by iced_nine » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:58 pm

Wow, following this guy's tutorial seems pretty straight forward... now if I only had a working null modem cable... no clue as to when amigakit will get more in stock... plus, I found out my SHIFT keys do not work on my keyboard... ugh!
Commodore 64/Amiga 500 Enthusiast

Syrax
Member
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Edmonton, AB

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by Syrax » Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:04 pm

I have ordered a null modem cable from amazon.ca. http://www.amazon.ca/Modem-Cable-Female ... odem+cable
Also ordered this usb to serial adapter for my pc: http://www.amazon.ca/RS232-Serial-Cable ... sb+to+9pin
After they come I will download Explorer and see if it all works.

User avatar
nonex
Member
Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:11 am
Location: PAL, USA

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by nonex » Thu Jun 05, 2014 1:04 am

Syrax wrote:Also ordered this usb to serial adapter for my pc: http://www.amazon.ca/RS232-Serial-Cable ... sb+to+9pin
After they come I will download Explorer and see if it all works.
If the cheapo usb-serial adapter gives you trouble then I recommend you try the Trendnet TU-S9 - I have two of them and they work real well, just a tad more pricey!

User avatar
iced_nine
Member
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: Central Florida USA

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by iced_nine » Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:18 pm

Let me know which works for... thanks!
Commodore 64/Amiga 500 Enthusiast

Syrax
Member
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Edmonton, AB

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by Syrax » Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:14 pm

Will do. My "cheapo" usb to serial connector is on a slow boat from China. Hope it comes soon.

Syrax
Member
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Edmonton, AB

Re: Null Modem Cable

Post by Syrax » Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:22 am

nonex wrote:
Syrax wrote:Also ordered this usb to serial adapter for my pc: http://www.amazon.ca/RS232-Serial-Cable ... sb+to+9pin
After they come I will download Explorer and see if it all works.
If the cheapo usb-serial adapter gives you trouble then I recommend you try the Trendnet TU-S9 - I have two of them and they work real well, just a tad more pricey!
Cheapo usb-serial adapter arrived from China today.....piece of crap. You had this one pegged right. Had to install old 2007 driver on my Windows 8 64bit laptop, for it to function at all. Very spotty. I ordered a good one, hopefully more luck when it arrives.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest