Providing service to the Commodore community and the consequences

General Chit Chat
eslapion

Providing service to the Commodore community and the consequences

Post by eslapion » Fri Oct 30, 2015 12:30 pm

I was sure naive but hey in a way I'm proud of it.

I arrived in the Commodore community, a VIC-20 and C64 fan, just thinking I could provide good service to the community and do it just for the fun of it.

What I didn't know and now realized is there was and there still is a small bunch of people who learned these machines from the user end and since they pushed these machines quite far were admired as idols by many. However, the fact they learned these machines by using and programming them doesn't mean they have true knowledge about their inner workings.

I came from the opposite end. I loved the VIC and 64 but later in life I got an engineering degree and was astounded by the depth and complexity of these machines once I looked at them through a junior engineer's eyes.

Just bumping into the community with this idealistic view of things that I could just jump in and suddenly do good things, it was inevitable that I would be faced with the wrath of those I would unwittingly expose the serious shortcomings of. The idols fall... egos tumble...

When I think of why I was banned from REMOVED, I cannot help but think of those people who were lured to blindness of their admiration for these idols which have become more or less despicable parasites.

One could say I learned the hard way not to step on the toes of these parasites. The fact that they have a good reputation and have been long present in the Commodore community changes NOTHING to the fact they are parasites and their intentions are clear: stay at the top and drive out anyone who's likely to expose their shortcomings, no matter what lies, scheming, insults or disinformation is necessary.